SSC CGL 2017 Notification – SSC CGL Notification                                                                                         Apply Online 

 Important Dates for SSC CGL 2017 Exam


Those dates which are given below are tentative.





CGL 2017 Tier – 1

19th June to 2nd July, 2017


CGL 2017 Tier – 1

5th to 8th September, 2017


CGL 2017 Tier – 1

12th September, 2017


CGL 2017 Tier – 1

December, 2017


Closing Date of Online CGL Application: 15th April, 2017
Releasing Date of SSC CGL 2017 Notification: 11th March, 2017


Changes in the SSC CGL Exam Pattern

1.) Online Exam : Previously SSC CGL Tier-1 and Tier-2 Exam are conducted through Paper Pen mode but from the year of 2016 all SSC Exam are to be conducted through Online Mode which is also known as (CBT) Computer Based Test.

2.) E-Admit Cards : Candidates SSC had discontinued sending Paper Admit Cards to candidates resident appearing for SSC Exam. Be it’s CGL Exam or CHSL Exam Admit card will be generated through online and it can be downloaded through the respective SSC Regional Websites.


 Selection Process and Exam Pattern for CGL 2017 Exam

Selection process of CGL 2017 is totally based on Written Exam which is changed and now it is known as Online Objective Test which is also called as (CBT) Computer Based Test. And after that candidates should appear for Descriptive Test as well as Computer Proficiency Test (CPT) and for Skill Test also.

1) Tier – 1 : Candidates this is First Stage of CGL Exam. Which means those candidates who have applied for CGL Exam than firstly they have to appear for Tier-1 Exam.

Tier-1 Exam is an online mode exam and it comprises with 4 section with 25 questions contain each and every section with the total time duration 75 Minutes.

General Awareness Section :                            25 Questions (50 Marks)

General Intelligence & Reasoning Section :        25 Questions (50 Marks)

English Section :                                              25 Questions (50 Marks)

Quantitative Aptitude Section :                          25 Questions (50 Marks)

Note : Candidates, there will be penalty of 0.50 Marks for Each and Every Wrong Answer.

 2) Tier-2 : This Stage is for those candidates who have qualified their Tier-1 Exam and short-listed for Tier-2 Exam.

Tier-2 Exam is also an Online Mode Exam and it comprises with 3 section,

Paper 1 is for English

Paper 2 is for Quantitative Abilities and

Paper 3 is based on Statistical Methods.

Basically Paper 1 and Paper 2 is compulsory for Every candidates who have qualified their Tier-1 Exam and Paper 3 is for those candidates who have applied for Statistical Investigator Posts.

 Paper – 1 (English) :                                   100 Questions (200 Marks)

Paper – 2 (Quantitative Abilities) :                 100 Questions (200 Marks)

3) Tier-3 : This stage is for those candidates who have qualified their Tier-2 Exam then they all have to appear for Tier-3 Exam, This Stage is totally Descriptive Paper of Hindi/ English. Total Weight age of Tier-3 Exam is also 100 Marks and applicant have to score at least 33% of marks for qualifying for Merit List.

Final Merit : Final Selection of candidates will be made on all performances in all three tiers.


 SSC CGL 2017 Tier-2 Exam Pattern

Candidates if you are lucky one to qualify the Tier-1 Exam than you have to appear for Tier-2 Stage. But as you proceed for Tier-2 Stage the competition decreases the Difficulty level of paper increases.

And it is very important to mention that Less than 10% of candidates make their Tier-2 stage, In the year of 2016 more than 14 lakh candidates appeared for Tier-1 Exam and only 1.49 lakh candidates were qualified for their CGL Tier-1 Exam.

Now Proceed to the pattern for CGL 2016 Exam.

1.) Tier-2 Date : As per SSC Annual Exam Calendar for 2017, CGL Tier-2 Exam will be held on 5th Sept. to 8th September, 2017.

2.) Basically Tier-2 has 4 papers and each and every paper contains 200 marks. Paper 1 and Paper 2 is compulsory for each and every candidates but Paper 3 is for those candidates who have applied for Statistical Investigator and Paper 4 is for those candidates who have applied for Assistant Audit Officer Post.

Paper – 1 : Quantitative Abilities (100 Questions/ 200 Marks)                          Time Duration of 2 hour.

Paper – 2 : English Language and Comprehension (200 Questions/ 200 Marks) Time Duration of 2 hour

Paper – 3 : Statistics (100 Questions/ 200 Marks)                                           Time Duration of 2 hour

Paper – 4 :  Finance and Accounts (100 Questions/ 200 Marks)                        Time Duration of 2 hour

Note : For Paper-2 negative Marking will be applicable for 0.25 marks for each and every wrong answer and for Paper 1, 3 and 4 negative marking will be applicable for 0.50 marks for each and every wrong answer.

 Candidates for more details applicants are advised to read previous post which relates Syllabus for SSC CGL 2017 Tier-2 Exam. 


 SSC CGL 2017 Tier-3 Exam Pattern

Tier-3 Stage is new introduces by CGL Exam and it is also known as Descriptive Paper. Previously Place of Tier-3 is Interview but from 1st January, 2016 Official of SSC and Government of India has decided to do away interview for all Non-Gazetted Post and therefore SSC introduces Descriptive Paper in CGL Exam.

Basically the motive of Descriptive Paper is checking the candidate’s writing skill, which is must and mandatory for Government Jobs.

Tier-3 or Descriptive Paper is to be held through Pen Paper or offline mode.

Descriptive Paper if comprises with Passage or Essay writing with minimum 250 words. and Application or Letter writing of 150 Words.

Descriptive Paper is Bilingual which means it’s upon you to choose your language either it’s Hindi or English.

Total Weight age of Descriptive paper is 100 Marks with 1 hour of time duration.

Minimum qualifying marks for Descriptive paper is 33%.